Remembering Layla

Scary Movie Night Layla

These last few months have been very difficult for myself and the family. The only best friend I have ever known, my beloved best friend Layla passed away May 31. She was there for me when I had my first heartbreak, comforted me during nights of severe storms, and protected me during our time we spent outdoors from other animals. She was the only one who stood up for me in difficult situations. I have spent nights crying, days searching for her in our backyard waiting for her to jump up from behind me and say “boo, I got you.” My searches have been exhausted and I am now starting to realize that she is not physically around anymore. Her body may not be here anymore to protect me from the bullies of the neighborhood, nor is her body here to protect me from the storms that pass over our city but her spirit will forever live within me.
She taught me many things, that girl. She taught me that I had to keep going through life with my head up high, she instilled in me the ability to have strength and courage. The other day one of the neighborhood bullies cornered me and bullied me until I was in tears. Then the sun broke through those dark clouds brighter than I had ever seen and for a brief moment I heard her, I heard her stern voice telling me “Don’t be afraid, my strength is within you.” I broke free from those bullies and walked past them like I have never done before. I did it with Layla by my side, where she will always be, until my day comes that I cross that Rainbow Bridge and I will be alongside my best friend again.

The Rainbow Bridge
‘There is a bridge connecting Heaven and Earth. It is called the Rainbow Bridge because of its many colors. Just this side of the Rainbow Bridge there is a land of meadows, hills and valleys with lush green grass.

When a beloved pet dies, the pet goes to this place. There is always food and water and warm spring weather. All the animals who have been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.

The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind. They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. Her bright eyes are intent; her eager body begins to quiver. Suddenly she begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, her legs carrying her faster and faster. You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross the Rainbow Bridge together, never again to be separated.’

Author Unknown

One thought on “Remembering Layla

  1. Hi Valerie, So sorry to hear about Layla. Looks like she was a gorgeous dog! I recently lost my dog, Scruffy, probably about 6 months ago now and it has been very difficult to overcome, the house feels very lonely without his little foot steps. My thoughts are with you and your family in this time of grieving.

    On a brighter note, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award, which you can check out the rules on my new blog post – hopefully your keen !
    You can check it out here:
    https://caybriana.wordpress.com/2014/11/25/liebster-award-nomination/#respond

    Best wishes,
    Caitlin x

Leave a Reply

